My Response to ‘Imam’ Bray’s Slander By Proxy

Posted: April 22, 2008 in Uncategorized

As some of you may know by now, there is a slander of me on another blog that I strongly believe to be placed there on the orders of that blog owner’s boss, Mr. Mahdi Bray.

Now one may wonder, why I would think that this SLANDER is planted by Mahdi Bray? First of all, I only met Mr. Bray’s proxy for the first time in the fall of 2007 (about 6 months ago) so he does not know me nor my history. It is very obvious to me that someone with an agenda fed him this false information because there are half truths involved.

Secondly, the proxy is an employee of MAS Freedom Foundation. Seeing as how the proxy does not know me, it is just not possible for him to have some of the (albeit VERY twisted) “information” because some of the events alluded to on the proxy’s blog took place before the proxy was even Muslim. So someone who was present during those times obviously fed him this false and misleading information.

Thirdly, the twisting of one of the events in particular (like the so called “war” I supposedly almost caused between Sunnis and the NOI) is further proof, for me, that only Mahdi Bray (and possibly assisted by Johari Abdul-Malik) could be behind this slander as I have known both Johari and Mahdi personally for many years (and not their proxy).

Johari was present during my conflict (however grossly inflated as it was by Mr. Bray) with the NOI. So putting 2+2 together, this leads me directly to Mahdi Bray who fed this “information” to his surrogate and employee.

This shows the cowardly nature of these men who will not dare to debate me in public, but would rather use a surrogate to attack me and spread malicious and completely FALSE rumors. These underhanded tactics only prove the point that I have been trying to make for weeks.

Some of the things which Mr. Bray mentions about my past associations (as I have already mentioned on my blog) are unfortunately true although the insidious quotes he attributes to me are pure fabrications, but allow me to begin with the title Mr. Bray chose:

“How do you say Steven Emerson in Arabic? Abdur-Rahman Muhammad”

Imam Bray, I must ask: Is this your way of making takfeer (calling me a non-Muslim)? By saying that I am Steven Emerson, are you saying that I am not Muslim? Is this a fatwa on my iman seeing that you are an “Imam”? Is this what “mainstream Muslim organizations” do to their critics?

Mr. Bray also falsely alleges that I made this statement:

“Justice is through the barrel of a gun…rivers of blood will flow through these streets one day”

This is a COMPLETE FABRICATION and it is shameful and evil for a community leader to stoop to this level. I challenge “Imam” Bray and his proxy to invoke the curse of God upon themselves if what they say is true. I will do the same because I never said such a thing. I state to you all here and now clearly that THIS IS A LIE and shows what kind of people are in the “leadership” that they would resort to such desperate tactics.

I will spare everyone the details (although I have them if need be) of the beginning of the story and his controversial tenure as a chaplain and imam at Howard University and how that period came to an end.

No, Mr. Bray! GIVE us the details you claim to have. I was never “chaplain” at Howard. Why don’t you tell us how the Muslim Brotherhood took over campus activities on the Howard campus? Please do so. Allow me to state for the record that I fiercely opposed the Muslim Brotherhood’s take over of the Islamic services at Howard University.

For the moment I will also spare readers from the story of how this one man single-handily almost caused an East Coast war between African-Americans Sunni Muslims and the Nation of Islam over false allegations,

Again, do tell Mr. Bray about this “war” I almost started. This is totally false.I did have minor altercations with members of the NOI (likely before your proxy was even Muslim) but that is a far stretch from causing a “war”. Please give us these “details” you claim to have “Imam” Bray.

I will not go into the reasoning he had to walk around with a bodyguard even though he was not famous

Of course you will not go into it, because I never had a bodyguard! Another complete fabrication designed to discredit me.

I will not go into the failure of the masjid that he founded,

No, let’s talk about it Mr. Bray man to manand not by proxy. Yes, some of us have struggled for years in the community to establish things in the community and we could not maintain our community masjid. Is that a crime? And it did not “fail” because of anything ‘evil’ that I did. By the way, when have you ever led a community “Imam” Bray?

and I will spare readers from the details of the number of personal issues sisters and others have brought to me.

Notice how Mr. Bray italicized sistersto make it more spurious. This was the most offensive thing stated by you Mr. Bray and it is highly disappointing. You are clearly implying here to your proxy’s readers that I have had some sort of sexual misconduct, which is completely baseless and false and a vicious calumny against a long time committed Muslim in the community. I vociferously deny any type of misconduct toward women. This is a truly evil and vile accusation and the depths of which I did not even expect for you to go. As you should know, as an Imam, that this is a great crime in Islamic law.

Again, bring these sisters that supposedly have brought my “personal issues” to YOU (or your proxy). Bring me the names, dates and EXACT accusations. But then again you know there are none because it is a lie that you have dreamed up through your employee.

In recent weeks AR has began attacking MAS and Imam Mahdi Bray along with other African-American imams for supporting the hunger-strike

Tell me, Mr “Imam”…what is the ISLAMIC ruling on hunger strikes and committing suicide? I’d like to know that. Further, I have never accused all the Muslims of being “guilty by association” (a straw man) and have simply repeated the statements made in court by people like Sami Al-Arian themselves.

Again, it is tactics like using proxies to SLANDER those who disagree with you that only prove my point. Is this Islamic??

This is a man who has consistently over the years given fiery lectures that are anti-American and pro-jihad and has been steadfast in his call for the overthrow of the Saudi monarch and yet today he is dissing African-Americans for supporting Sami? How did AR get from point A to point B?

Where is your proof Mr. Bray that I have given such speeches? You sir are a LIAR. Again, as I have already mentioned on my blog, I have associated with unseemly people in the past, however I have never made such statements and this is SLANDER. God knows that you are a LIAR trying to leave the impression that you have recordings to back up your claims (which I assure you do not). You are showing that you have no scruples whatsoever.

I do not run from my past, but Mr. Bray, you have lied on me. If he has tapes (and I assure you that he does not), THEN I CHALLENGE HIM to produce them.

Finally, I must add that NONE of Mr. Bray’s ad hominem arguments against me on his proxy’s blog address the FACTS which is perhaps the most revealing aspect of this episode. They had to resort to desperate tactics in an attempt to destroy my character.

Mr. Bray:

Please be a man and debate me YOURSELF instead of having an employee do it on your behalf. I am willing to debate you any time and any place and bring whatever so called “proof” that you have. Just stop hiding behind other people. Let’s debate the facts and not resort to slander.

Comments
  1. Safiyyah says:

    Salaams Brother:

    I have never known Umar Lee to be a proxy for anyone. He is a brother of integrity and can stand on his own.

    Isn’t their enough dis-unity in the Muslim world?

  2. Blakoak777 says:

    Response to the Email of Abdur-Rahman Muhammad

    This is an email that was sent out by Abdur-Rahman Muhammad in response to my post on him. I will respond point by point. First of all let me say that he has made an unsubstantiated allegation in that I operated as some kind of a proxy for Imam Mahdi Bray or Imam Johari Abdul-Malik. This is a lie, period. This piece was written by me with no encouragement from anyone else after becoming enraged at his attacks on Sami al-Arian while he is on his heroic hunger strike, Ali al-Timimi while he is serving life in pirson, and others along with his repeating the accusations of Steve Emerson and the anti-Muslim lobby that the mainstream Muslim organizations in America are operating as a front for groups on the State Department list of terrorist organizations. Abdur-Rahman Muhammad launched a wholesale attack on the Muslim community in America and presented us as a 5th Column in the spirit of Michael Savage and this deserved a response.

    ARM: As some of you may know by now, there is a slander of me on Umar Lee’s blog that I personally believe to be placed there on the orders of (and possibly even partially written by) Mr. Mahdi Bray. Some of the things which Mr. Bray (via his proxy) mentions about my past associations (as I have already mentioned on my blog) are unfortunately true although the insidious quotes he attributes to me are pure fabrications.

    UL: Once again I will state that I was not directed by Mahdi Bray to do anything and no one tells me what to write or orders me to do anything. This is an allegation made without nay evidence and this has nothing to do with Mahdi Bray I do not see why Abdur-Rahman wants to interject him into this conversation.

    ARM: Again, as I have already mentioned on my blog, I have associated with unseemly people in the past, however Mr. Bray (via Mr. Lee) has SLANDERED me when he alludes to “women problems” and tells an outright LIE in that I made a statement about “justice being through the barrel of a gun and rivers of blood flowing through these streets” and the other statements. God knows that this man (Lee/Bray) is a LIAR and very clearly has no scruples whatsoever. Seeing as I only met Mr. Lee for the first time in the fall of 2007, this strongly leads me to believe that his boss, Mahdi Bray is clearly staging this pitiful attack by proxy.

    UL: It is Abdur-Rahman who tells this lie because I stood in front of him ten years ago in front of the Islamic Center when he gave this talk and heard him with my own ears say “justice being through the barrel of a gun and rivers of blood flowing through these streets”. I talked to him afterwards and he reiterated his jihadi sentiments. We met again later at Masjid al-Aqsa in Philadelphia to hear speeches by Abu Usama and Muhammad Sayed Adly in 1998 and it was there that he chastised the leaders of the Salafi dawah for not calling for a jihad in Saudi Arabia against the rulers.

    ARM: The twisting of one of the events in particular (like the so called “war” between Sunnis and the NOI) is further proof, for me, that only Mahdi Bray (and possibly assisted by Johari Abdul-Malik) could be behind this slander as I have known both Johari and Mahdi personally for many years (and not their proxy). Johari was present during my conflict (however grossly inflated as it was by Mr. Bray) with the NOI. So putting 2+2 together, this leads me directly to Mahdi Bray and Johari Abdul-Malik who fed this “information” to this surrogate. This shows the cowardly nature of these men who will not dare to debate me in public, but would rather use a surrogate to attack.

    UL: I was not fed any information by anyone and again, just as Imam Mahdi Bray has nothing to do with this, neither does Imam Johari Abdul-Malik ( who Abdur-Rahman referred to, in front of me, as “Uncle Johari”, an odd thing given that Johari is not the one parroting Steve Emerson). If Abdur-Rahman wants to caste dispersions on them while they are both at the forefront of the fight for Muslim rights in America then that is on him. As for me these are two men I greatly admire and respect; but my writing on this topic has absolutletely nothing to do with them.

    ARM: Also FYI, the “drama” that Mr. Bray alludes to in his post on his proxy’s blog is when I fiercely opposed the Muslim Brotherhood’s take over of the Islamic services at Howard University.

    UL: This is another fiction. When did an organization known as the Muslim Brotherhood ever attempt to take over any services at Howard? For that matter; where is the proof that, as Abdur-Rahman claims, that the major Muslim organizations in America are operating in conjunction with Hamas, Hezbollah and the others as he alleges? These are allegations straight out of the far right-wing playbook and yet they are coming from someone who fancies himself a leader in the Muslim community. What is his evidence that MAS, CAIR, ISNA and others are fronts for terrorist organizations? Bring your proofs and not rehashed allegations from Steve Emerson.

    ARM: I do not run from my past, but Mr. Bray (via his proxy) has made things up. If he has tapes, THEN I CHALLENGE HIM to produce them. I challenge Mr. Bray to bring ONE SISTER that has complained about me to him or his proxy. I would post a public response (and will do so if necessary) but I do not want to bring his proxy the attention that he is so desperately craving. I know the real culprit behind this attack: Mahdi Bray

    UL: Again this has nothing to do with Mahdi Bray and the tapes made by Abdur-Rahman over the years are public as he well knows. Speaking of the sisters, I doubt Abdur-Rahman really wants that, but this is not an allegation of fornication as some have taken it, but regarding other matters that were harmful.

    ARM: Finally, I must add that NONE of Mr. Bray’s ad hominem arguments against me on his proxy’s blog address the facts that I have presented on my own blog. Mr Bray et al are desperately afraid of what else I may write and it is sad that they are using a proxy for their dirty work.

    To Mahdi Bray (who is included in this email to many media outlets)

    I know it is you! Please be a man and debate me YOURSELF instead of having someone do it on your behalf. I am willing to debate you any time and any place and bring whatever so called “proof” that you have. I challenge you to stop hiding behind other people. Let’s debate the facts and not resort to slander

    To everyone else:

    I have been in contact with many of you and if you have any questions please contact me at this email address.

    UL: At the end of the day Abdur-Rahman does not address the core issues and that is his attack on Sami al-Arian, Ali al-Timimi, MAS, CAIR, ISNA and the rest of the American-Muslim community. His only stance is that he stands side by side with the enemies of Islam in their allegations that Muslims in America pose a threat and are intrinsically tied to terrorist organizations. While Muslims are suffering he is taking the side of their tormenters, those are the facts and that much is public.

    We all have our pasts and none of us in pure and I would not bring up someone’s past if it were not for the fact that Abdur-Rahman has shown such a radical change. The vocal jihadi is now a pro-American attacker of Muslims and his past becomes relevant in that I want to know how he arrived from point A to point B? There was a time when I held many views I don’t know and did many things I regret; but I have explained how I have gotten from point A to point B.

    In closing I will say if you do not believe Umar Lee then just go around the DC area and ask around. There is no need for Mahdi Bray to feed me information on what is known to all of those who have been around as these things I say are known to all (except maybe Abdur-Rahman’s new Islamophobe pals). Go to Maryland and ask why he was banned form speaking from the Islamic Center of Maryland, go to the members of his old masjid and ask about his public attacks of people from the minbar, and go to the Islamic Center and see what they have to say. Again, do not take my word, go into the community and take the words of the people who know him best.

  3. Kwame Madden says:

    Blakoak your facts about what took place at MasjidAL-Asqa in Philly are not at all accurate.Abdur Rahman points that day he made to AbuUsamah were about they were going down the wrong path inhow they were implenting the call to the dawa salafi.Also this notion of obeying the rulers notsaying anything at all aganist those corrupt regimes in the MiddleEast wasa object of contention of this back and forth dialogue.Everybody knows there were students of knowledge who spread this ideal that to speak aganist the rulers was almost paramount to kufr.Also I remember one caller to the dawa saying how they were going to run over ISNA,ICNA,W.DMuhammad and Quba institute and how they all fitna.If you ask me Abdul Rahman clearly was superior in this dialogue unfortunely there lot of blind following of personalties in the circles of the dawa.Just about everything the brother reiterated to Abu Usamah that day has now come true.The implosion that he warned him aganist happen amongst the salafi community the next year.I commend the brother for not being a flunky for the immigrant community.My contention with you my brother is based on your misinformation about the dialogue in Philadelpia.

  4. Blakoak777 says:

    Point of clarification:

    The previous post was not my own response but that of Brother Umer Lee, a well respected brother and blogger whose reputation and integrity is well above reproach, who was an eye witness to above mentioned events. I merely piosted his reply. Let me also say that Abdur Rahman has three times deleted the above mentioned response which strongly suggests that when his own credibility is placed under scrutiny he can’t stand the heat. I have long suspected a self serving agenda under the quise “journalistic expose’. This recent episode goes far to confirm those suspicions

  5. Kwame Madden says:

    Sorry my brother if I offended you in anyway but Umar is not being truthful about what happened in Philly.I guess Umar was also amongst the blind followers that day.Some of very same issues that Abdul Rahman took up that day Umar and others would end up writing about.

  6. (what I posted on Umar’s blog I say the same to you now)

    You Both ARE TAKING THIS TO FAR.

    and people say the woman are the fitna starters!! lol yeah right! The way you started off the entire topic with hints of wrong doing but not just jumping out there and saying it was so gay bro. Really, both of you are to old for this mess.

    His approach is wrong and you’re sure the hell anit any better. Did either of you even try to talk in private 1st?

    You have no idea what kind of crap either of you are stepping in….

    To everyone else so pressed to comment and take sides better think long and hard before you open your mouths on these sites. Dudes, it’s starting to look real gangish around here.

    EVERYONE is in jail because they did something wrong. To argue about the degree of wrong I’ve learned over the years is pointless because EVERYONE knows how the game is played. You get your hand stuck in the cookie jar suck it up and take the punishment like a man. I know this for a fact having worked with Bro Royer at MAS FF. I raised money for those families since most of the men didn’t have a dime saved up and seemed to care more about their “brotherhood” then making sure their wives and all those kids wouldn’t do with out. I stood out in front of the Justice department for months EVERY friday during there trial in protest to there treatment with their wives and kids. I’ve had dinner with Dr. S.A. and worked with his son on the Hill, and was with him when he got kicked out of the Faith based meeting just because of who his father is. I know Imam Al Asi, went to his daughters wedding and Bro. Mahdi and Bro. Johari I KNOW extremly well so all these roads cross each other but if you ALL go down the road it will be a lose lose for ALL involved.

    Talk in private!!!

    end this now and all of you old arse men grow up!

  7. Blakoak777 says:

    To hijabisoverrated:

    You are so much on point on this issue. For a long time I was silent on this back and forth discussion. My sole objective was to post these responses PUBLICLY to address a PUBLIC accusation. Had these accusations been done in private there would have been no need to call people out as it were. But since people’s reputations and integrities were publicly called into question Islamic protocal demanded a public response. For now I’m through. Khalas. Thank you for that reminder.

  8. Sister Seeking says:

    Salaam’Alaikum Everyone:

    I invite and ENCOURAGE everyone to reflect for a moment…

    I thought these quotes most appropriate:

    The ultimate measure of a man is not where he stands in moments of comfort and convenience, but where he stands at times of challenge and controversy.
    Martin Luther King Jr., Strength to Love, 1963

    Beware when the great God lets loose a thinker on this planet.
    Ralph Waldo Emerson

    The first duty of a revolutionary is to get away with it.
    Abbie Hoffman (1936 – 1989)

    False words are not only evil in themselves, but they infect the soul with evil. Plato (427 BC – 347 BC), Dialogues, Phaedo

    I have never made but one prayer to God, a very short one: ‘O Lord, make my enemies ridiculous.’ And God granted it. -Voltaire (1694 – 1778)

    The highest result of education is tolerance. Helen Keller (1880 – 1968), ‘Optimism,’ 1903

    It is the province of knowledge to speak and it is the privilege of wisdom to listen. Oliver Wendell Holmes (1809 – 1894

    You can’t separate peace from freedom because no one can be at peace unless he has his freedom. Malcolm X (1925 – 1965), Malcolm X Speaks, 1965

    Nearly all men can stand adversity, but if you want to test a man’s character, give him power. Abraham Lincoln (1809 – 1865)

  9. Sister Seeking says:

    Here is I poem I wrote and I encourage everyone to reflect and BREATH:

    Ya-Aziz the Mighty
    COPY RIGHT 2006
    ISBN PENDING
    NO PERMISSION TO COPY

    Allah Akbar…. my soul awakes…
    Allah Akbar… master… here is your slave…
    Allah Akbar… the beginning… the end…

    Step into Allah’s light…
    Become inhaled by Allah’s Mercy…
    Be in awe at Allah’s might…

    Egos of mine… die… Pride of mine die… Delusions of mine die…
    Carnal desires of mine die… Greed of mine die… Selfishness of mine die…
    Suggestions…. the whispers… in my mind… die….

    Give up the illusion of control… give up believing that I think I know…
    Open up my soul… allow it to hold…
    The truth… what is right…
    Allow it to bow down to Allah’s might

    Cry… and cry… wail… and weep… do not speak…
    Be silent… be still… Allah is real… getting on your knees…
    Bow dejected and cry out Ya-Aziz

    Anger of mine die… rage of mine die… fear of mind die… lies of mine die…
    Arrogance of mine die… lawlessness of mine die… hatred of mine die…
    Ideas… thoughts… the whispers in my mind… die….

    Die over and over again
    Accepting that I will not ever win
    Accepting they will never win
    That nobody is really right

    Allah is Ya-Aziz, Allah is Mighty
    Allah….
    Power that is
    Unbelievable…
    Inconceivable…
    Awesome…
    Blossoms…
    Glows…
    Knows…

    Die over and over again…
    Accepting that I will not ever win…
    Accepting they will never win…
    That nobody is really right…
    Allah is the only power…
    Filled with unthinkable might…

    Enemies of Islam… submit… commit… give up… and quit…
    We are all wrong… nobody is really right…
    Heed this warning…
    Submit to Allah… be dejected…. in awe of his might

    Delightful…. frightful…
    Hushing…. crushing…
    Everything… into nothing
    It is Allah right….
    What ever Allah wills…
    No one… nothing… can fight…
    You will be erased by Allah’s might….

    Might that
    Makes…
    Shapes…
    Creates…
    Awakes…
    Heals…
    Is real…
    Is all that exist…
    Might never ending…
    Might nothing can resist…

    Might that
    Can cause every mountain on earth to tumble….
    Every sea to bow…
    Every stretch of land to be humble…
    Any time… right now….
    Might so grate…. you will never know how….

    Hush… hush… get down… and bow…

    Might that
    Can crush
    Every oppressor
    Every dictator
    Every tyrant
    To any of his slaves
    Might that
    Can crush
    Their evil ways
    The pain they cause
    The harm they do
    The people who murder
    Many or few

    Might that
    Can open up the earth
    Split the entire universe
    Eliminate all you silly games
    With hold the rain
    Erase the sun
    Cause all the trees to get up and run
    Animals to talk
    Rocks that stand up and walk
    Shadows to stand sill
    Make you aware he is real
    Dictate time
    Take over every tissue in your mind

    Might that
    Makes silence pray
    Make noise a slave
    Take away nights
    Take away days
    Destroy every government system
    And other ruler who refuses to listen
    Make the Qur’an the only thing on earth glisten
    Make the Qur’an glow with such inconceivable light
    Make oceans leap
    And cause the stars to weep

    Allah the Mighty
    Bow down
    And know
    Allah Ya-Aziz
    Do it for your own sake
    Please

  10. Rasheed Moore says:

    Hmm… Sounds a little paranoid why do even think your so significant that someone has to attack you by proxy? Sounds like someones ego is over inflated, just eat a little humble pie chill out and everything will be fine ak..

  11. Page says:

    While Muslims may buy Al-Arian as a “damsel in distress” the average American can see through the hype. Al-Arian is a convicted criminal who lied repeatedly in interviews about his ties to terrorists. There’s also the matter of tapes the government obtained of Al-Arian laughing after hearing about a suicide bomb attack with body parts raining down. Can anyone imagine Martin Luther King laughing at the murder and maiming of innocents?

    Among those disgusted by Al-Arian is the judge in his case who noted Al-Arian’s callous lack of regard for the lives of innocents. The judge wrote of Al-Arian’s failure to warn Israel of planned terror attacks when a warning could have saved lives.Yet Muslims still attempt to defend this guy

Leave a Reply

