We’re In This Thing Together

Posted: December 10, 2007 in Uncategorized

When I began this blog a little over a month ago, I knew that there were a lot of my brothers and sisters out there in the country who were feeling exactly as I was, depressed and in pain. As you can see from my output over the past few weeks, I have had a lot of things on my mind for a very long time. Many of you have already written me and shared your sense of frustration and confusion as to the direction we’re going in as Muslims in this country. I have fully appreciated your comments and have been inspired to develop an honest and frank forum to work out our issues.

I would like my readers to know that I have been working over twenty years in the cause of Islam, and whatever any one of you have experienced in your Islamic life, good or bad, I have probably experienced as well. Quite frankly, sometimes I have no idea of what these leaders are up to, and as you can very well tell from my other posts, I intend to let them know that. Both you and I feel the intense pain of previous failures in our efforts to establish an Islamic reality in this country, and we are not about to be bitten from the same hole twice. We’re all in this thing together, and I would love to hear from you if you appreciate what we have to say.

Part 5 of the series any day now (inshallah).    

Comments
  1. Kwame Madden says:

    Your blog is very inspiring brother.Just about everybody I have spoken to appreciate your insight on the issues and developments going on in the ummah in NorthAmercia.Critical thinking is needed and this blog provides a forum for that.May Allah reward you ,and bless you with a beautiful ziawj..

  2. This is an excellent point Br. Abdur-Rahman and we all need to work together for the greater good

  3. ummali says:

    as salaamu alaykum,

    This is very moving and your sincerity manifests in every word you’ve written thus far. One question though. Who is “we?”

  4. ProudBlackMother says:

    ASA

    I have thoroughly enjoyed reading your blog, and I encourage you to keep up the good work!

    Your blog has been a fresh of breath air..

    Proud Black Mother

  5. Abdur-Rahman M says:

    As Salaamu Alaikum Sis. Ummali,

    Sometimes I say “we” to mean the Muslims, and other times I’m using it in the sense of the “royal we”, a literary device that keeps me from having to say “I”.

  6. Abdur-Rahman M says:

    As Salaamu Alaikum Proud Black Mother,

    Thank you so much for your encouragement. Al Humdulillah. I’ll keep writing as long as you keep reading, inshallah. Deal?

Leave a Reply

