Eye Witness to History, with Pictures to Prove It (Part I)

Posted: January 21, 2009 in Uncategorized
Tags: , ,

Yesterday, I was extremely blessed to witness the inauguration of the first Black president in United States history from one of the best seats in the house! I had to brave nineteen degree weather from eight in the morning until two that afternoon, but would happily do it again as this was one of the most memorable moments of my life.

As it happened, I was seated in the celebrity area, and sat only two rows back from Jay Z, Beyonce, and P Diddy. I met singer and song writing legend Smokey Robinson, boxing promoter Butch Lewis, and got to see Denzel Washington and his entire family. The frigid temperature reeked havoc on my camera battery, which died before I could get a better picture of him.

Man, what a day it was! Nothing can really prepare you for walking up the capital steps and having that presidential seal hit you in the face. It is a powerful experience I must say. I could literally feel the roar of the millions of people assembled on the mall against my back, and kept thinking to myself how fortunate I was to have such a close proximity to this historical event. I also remember thinking that those capital steps where I sat had to be the safest place on earth at that moment, with Secret Service, helicopters, National Guard, and Capital Police everywhere.

All of the pictures were taken by me, except of course the ones I appear in. I’m just posting them up without much commentary. They are below. Enjoy

beyonce

Jay Z and Beyonce

Jay Z and Beyonce

Diddy

Diddy

beyonce-1
Solange Knowles and P-Diddy

Solange Knowles and P-Diddy

Beyonce

Beyonce

Jay Z

Jay Z

img_1411
img_1402
Comments
  1. Bint Will says:

    Beautiful…I’m jealous! I love Solange, not really a fan of Beyoncé (but I love all my sisters, meaning women of color :))

  2. DC Muslimah says:

    Wow! Nice pics!

  3. Imam Johari says:

    As-salaamu alaikum,

    May Allah continue to bless you. I was in the nose bleed section with my family and loving every minute of it. Allah is Akbar – all the time!

  4. umm…you sure did have a lot pics of Beyonce. *wink*

  5. Hijabisoverrated says:

    I was there too! with great seats in the yellow ticket section. An actress was infront of me but for the life of me i cant remember her funky name! My camera died on me too but i was really happy and I only wish my Husband was back from Riyadh to share in the moment with me! The crowds were awesome and everyone was so nice. Not 1 arrested yesterday. I came home and mother said the news annoucd bush had 1million at his inaguration which is a ()*&_(#*&(@* lie. I’m also not very happy with the media mostly refusing to address him as mr. President and his wife as 1st lady. he is not a dude you meant at the cook out. They need to respect him as our leader because its important that the world see us do so.

  6. It must be hard to be Beyonce’s sister. HA! Great pics masha’Allah

  7. wanda says:

    Congrats on being there and with such great seats! I agree with jamerican though, somebody is a Beyonce fan.😉

  8. Yusuf Abdullah says:

    Beyonce was looking good!

  9. Luvvie says:

    AWESOME seats and pics. And why are all these celebrities (apart from JayZ) too cool to bundle up?? Solange and her lace gloves…

  10. mtakbar says:

    Beyonce was looking beautiful.

    Jay-Z looked like a beaver with that hat on. LOL.

  11. muslimahlocs says:

    asa. the best seat in the house was to just be in the house. we were there too and would not have missed it.

Leave a Reply

